The museum was opened in 1991 as Japan's first museum specializing in seal engraving. The museum, which was renovated from a three-story stone storehouse built in 1919 to retain the atmosphere of that time, was registered as a Tangible Cultural Property in 1998.
The museum is located in a three-story stone warehouse that was built in 1998. The museum exhibits the works of the late Ikui Shika, Nakamura Rantai and other representative Japanese artists, as well as seals and stone seal materials related to seal engraving. The museum also has a study room where visitors can try their hand at seal engraving (reservation required) and browse through related books.
|Address||2-4-18 Chuo-cho, Koga-shi, Ibaraki-ken|
|Business Hour*1||9:00 to 17:00(Admission is 30 minutes before closing)|
|Closed*2||The day after a national holiday, the end of the year, the fourth Friday of each month, and during the exhibition renewal period|
|Entrance Fee*4||Adults¥200 High,Junior and elementary school students¥50（Special exhibition is different）|
|Access*5||Train: 7 minutes on foot from JR Utsunomiya Line's Koga Station, 25 minutes on foot from Tobu Nikko Line's Shinkoga Station. By Car/ 30 minutes from the Hanyu, Kazo, or Tatebayashi IC on the Tohoku Expressway, 40 minutes from the Kuki IC, 30 minutes from the Goka or Sakai-Koga IC on the Ken-O Expressway.|
|*1 The last day of an exhibition or event may end early. *2 There are also end-of-year and temporary closures *3 Blanks refer to all genres. *4 Admission prices may vary depending on the event. Check for senior citizens, children and group discounts.*5 The times shown are approximate.|
Precautions may be taken to prevent the spread of corona infection. Please contact the gallery for more information.